Best Oven Roasted Chicken-Ever.

A few weeks ago my husband and I decided that we had to start cutting out some spending so we could get some debt paid off. We mutually decided to stop eating out during the week for lunch time. Since my husband loves salad I decided to start making him baked chicken to go in them that way he’s not starving two hours after lunch. Every Sunday afternoon it seems like I’m scrambling to find a decent chicken recipe for his salads. I never want to oven roast plain chicken breasts because that sounds super boring. No one likes super boring chicken. Especially chicken breasts.

Last Saturday afternoon I was scouring the internet trying to find a different dry rub or wet marinade to make this chicken breast less boring. I finally found it. I got this recipe from The Frugal Girls. My husband said this was one of the best tasting recipes he’s had for chicken. I applaude these girls for making me have a happy husband! Below is the recipe and some pictures throughout my process.

DSCN1490

Ingredients:

1/4 C. brown sugar

1 T. salt (Plus handful more for brining)

1 T. chili powder

1 T. paprika

2 t. garlic powder

2 t. onion powder

1 t. oregano

Olive oil (for coating chicken breasts)

Directions:

DSCN1489

1. Brine the chicken: Add water to a large mixing bowl. Add a handful of salt to the water and stir until salt is dissolved. Add your chicken breasts to the salt water mixture and let sit for about 15 minutes. You can do up to 6 hours in the fridge if you’re not in a hurry.

DSCN1491

2. Mix dry rub together: Mix all dry ingredients in a small mixing bowl. This is more than enough seasoning for two chicken breasts. This would be enough for a whole chicken.

DSCN1492

4. Season the chicken: Remove chicken from salt water mixture and discard water. Pat the chicken dry. Coat chicken with a small amount of olive oil on each side. This helps the seasoning to stick. Add dry rub and massage into the chicken. You can bake it now or let it marinade for 30 mins or up to 4 hours.

5. Bake the chicken: I always roast mine at 450 F for around 18 minutes depending on thickness.

DSCN1497

6. Remove chicken from oven and let rest for 5-10 minutes. This insures nice, juicy chicken! Slice chicken breasts and Enjoy!

I usually cook around 2-3 chicken breasts on Sunday night, slice them and have them ready to go in little baggies. This is by far the easiest, and best seasoning I’ve tried. Until next time!

Broughton and Arrow

2 thoughts on “Best Oven Roasted Chicken-Ever.

Leave a Reply

