North Carolina Barbecue Sauce

First of all I would like to apologize for my mini hiatus. I dropped my phone and shattered my screen. I’ve been busy with family being in town and such. 

In this post I’m going to show you the wonder of Carolina based barbecue sauce, North that is. I’m originally from North Carolina, as is my husband. There is nothing better than barbecue. We’re raised on it from birth. Every festival always has at least one stand with delicious barbecue. Anyone can cook a Boston Butt, shred it and call it barbecue. The secret is in the sauce. 

Despite growing up in North Carolina, I never made my own barbecue until moving to Georgia. My husband received a grill this summer and he’s been trying out various cuts of meat. Our local IGA had boston butts on sale for $1.48/lb last week so we decided to try one of those. I made up this sauce that I found on Haute Mealz. This recipe made a pint size mason jar full of sauce. 

North Carolina Based Barbecue Sauce(Vinegar Based)

2 C. Apple Cidar Vinegar

2 T. Smoked Paprika

2 T. White Sugar

4 tsp. Fine Sea Salt(I used kosher salt)

2 tsp. Course Ground Black Pepper

1-2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

Directions:

  
1. Add all ingredients to a small sauce pan.

2. Simmer on med.-hi. heat. 

3. Store in a airtight jar. 

Note: The mixture will separate as it sits so just give it a shake when your ready to use it! 

Enjoy! 

Broughton & Arrow

Leave a Reply

